Project

General

folie2 and Windows...

Added by doewie 5 months ago

I'm still struggling with Folie2 on W10. I have a very basic setup (USB -> USB FTDI -> HyTiny) which works great with Folie1.
But with Folie2 the communication is unstable and sending a file is very slow as only 1 line per exactly 1000 ms ( measured with Salae Logic Analyzer) is handled.

Just wondering if there is some experience (good or bad) out there with Folie2 on Windows.

Replies (10)

RE: folie2 and Windows... - Added by jcw 5 months ago

I'm sorry to hear that Folie v2 is working so badly under Windows.

There is some trickery in Folie v2 which might be causing this, but I have no experience with Win10 and unfortunately very limited ways to figure this out. It's good to know that v1 is doing better, but there really are quite a number of differences - hard to explain what's going on. Well, for me anyway.

Would it be an option to set up a Linux box, i.e. RasPi, Odroid, CHIP, or similar?
They can be configured to run ser2net, which Folie can then drive over a net socket.
I'll be happy to dive in deeper and document that in a future weblog post.

RE: folie2 and Windows... - Added by doewie 4 months ago

Yes, I think I will setup a RasPi, shouldn't be too complicated.

Another workaround for Windows is to use a simple ESP-01 breakout-board with the ESP-Link firmware installed and configured as a simple bridge. For me line-handling then is very fast but there are still some instabilities in the communication.

Regarding Windows, it should be a great pity if Windows users are excluded. On the other hand, I'm afraid i'm the only Windows user in this Mac/Linux community. Somehow I have made a wrong decision decades ago.

I will be travelling coming days but will dive deeper into this next week. Will keep you posted.

RE: folie2 and Windows... - Added by JohnO 4 months ago