Project

General

Resolved: Jeenodes not working anymore

Added by theboozler over 5 years ago

I just got a pair of jeenodes yesterday, 433mhz v6. Using the rf12demo sketch everything worked fine. Today, the jeenodes don’t seem to be able to talk to each other. Using the demo sketch On both nodes i can only get an ack reply maybe once every few minutes. What could be the problem? Any troubleshooting ideas?

PS I started noticing problems when I started playing with the poller pollee examples. I noticed that when polling that the first sendNow would transmitt, but the sketch would hang at the second call to sendNow. I assume stuck in the loop while(!rf12_canSend).

Replies (14)

RE: Jeenodes not working anymore - Added by martynj over 5 years ago

Try loading up a copy of this excellent visualiser
If it shows some sort of RF activity, that proves out the receiver section and then you can put the other Node into transmit mode and check its transmission. Flip the roles over and prove out the inverse.
Note that to get a reasonable range, the RFM12B’s must be set to run in their “native” 433MHz. They can be set to the 868MHz defaults in RF12 demo, but the mismatch of the frequency dependent components for the on board aerial tuning circuit result in a very restricted range.

RE: Jeenodes not working anymore - Added by theboozler over 5 years ago

Yes! I found the NrfMon program shortly after making my original post. It seems to be a handy tool. When I first ran the software I had an incredible amount of noise all across the screen (more specifically, while in “scan” mode). Was the same with the both nodes.

I observed that if I coiled up my usb cable that the noise dropped dramatically. I am connected to the PC by way of a cheapo 6-ft USB cable > usb bub II> jeenode. After that I went back to the rf12demo sketches and was able to get reliable acks again.