Project

General

(Resolved) Simple test using atmega328 - problem with crc

Added by 4994james almost 6 years ago

Hi I am quite new to this so please forgive me if this is obvious. I have successfully used this tx rx code example. However as soon as try to build an even simpler example things go awry. Here is my code:

tx:
#include 
char payload[] = "abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz";
void setup () {
    Serial.begin(9600);
    rf12_initialize(10, RF12_433MHZ, 210);
    pinMode(13,OUTPUT);
}
void loop () {  
    rf12_recvDone();
    rf12_sendStart(0, &payload, sizeof payload);
    delay(1000);
}

rx:
#include 
void setup () {
    Serial.begin(9600);
    rf12_initialize(30, RF12_433MHZ, 210);
}
void loop () {
    if (rf12_recvDone()){
        Serial.println("recvdone");
        Serial.print("len: ");Serial.print(rf12_len);
        Serial.print("crc: ");Serial.println(rf12_crc);  
        for (byte i = 0; i < rf12_len; ++i)
        Serial.print(rf12_data[i]);
        Serial.println();
    }
}

Now I get crc errors on almost all packets received. E.g. typical output of serial monitor:
len: 27crc: 22784

I am pretty sure this is not a hardware problem as it works perfectly with the openenergy code.

Any help gratefully received.

Replies (7)

RE: Simple test using atmega328 - problem with crc - Added by jcw almost 6 years ago

Don’t call rf12_sendStart without checking rf12_canSend. Or replace it by the new rf12_sendNow.

RE: Simple test using atmega328 - problem with crc - Added by 4994james almost 6 years ago

Thanks for the reply. However even using sendNow I see the same behaviour unfortunately.

RE: Simple test using atmega328 - problem with crc - Added by padvinder95 almost 6 years ago

What is your problem though? Is the CRC incorrect?

RE: Simple test using atmega328 - problem with crc - Added by 4994james almost 6 years ago

Yes. I get CRC errors (i.e. CRC <> 0) on most transmissions, but not all. Probably 1 in 20 comes through ok.