Project

General

Assigning a node ID to a JeeNode without coding it

Added by dvisor over 6 years ago

I really am a complete novice at this sort of thing, but a few days after receiving my two JeeNodes, I’ve got them talking together and reporting the temperature wirelessly. Simple stuff, I know, but I’m learning a lot. I’d like to add 3 or 4 more JeeNodes, but I’m trying to figure out a way of assigning different node IDs to each of them for the RF12 module, without having to code it into the sketch. Is there some way I can use jumpers on the board to assign a node ID? I’ve done quite a bit of searching, but maybe I’m using the wrong terminology.

Replies (3)

Assigning a node ID to a JeeNode without coding it - Added by martynj over 6 years ago

dvisor,

There is space in the EEPROM to store a per device ID - if you look through RF12Demo, there is similar storage/retrieval of initial parameters for the radio module.

At first glance, there is not a direct way to jumper an ID for several nodes - it consumes too many I/O pins to link them either HIGH or LO and create say a 4 bit I.D.
You could use an ADC trick for this - it would only use up one AIO pin connected at the center of a voltage divider from Vcc to GND.  Set the ADC to compare against Vcc and program the I.D. as the resistor ratio - the number of I.D. bits available will just depend on the resistor tolerances. 

Might be a good excuse to investigate the ADC world ;-)

RE: Assigning a node ID to a JeeNode without coding it - Added by JohnO over 6 years ago

There is an experimental version of RF12Demo which can allocate node numbers via the radio link. It depends on your node topology, the experimental version assumes a star network with RF12Demo at the centre. https://github.com/jcw/jeelib/tree/RF12Demo

RE: Assigning a node ID to a JeeNode without coding it - Added by JohnO over 6 years ago

The simpler answer to your question: