Project

General

JeeNode Micro with DHT22

Added by urmel over 5 years ago

Hello everybody,

I’m new to the JeeNode stuff and I’m very excited about it. :)

I managed to get a JeeNode USB v6 and a JeeNode Micro v3 running and I can successfully run
the radioBlip2 sketch on the JN-Micro while receiving the counter on the JN-USB.

Now I’m trying to attach a DHT22 sensor. I first attached it to the JeeNode USB v6 and tried
the dht_demo sketch. That works fine; I can see the temperature and humidity values from the
sensor shown in the serial monitor.

Now I have the DHT22 attached to the Micro and modified the radioBlip2 sketch to include
temperature und humidity values in the payload struct. I added a DHTxx global variable in
the sketch, but I’m unsure about the port number to use.

Judging from the JN-Micro reference http://jeelabs.org/2013/03/23/jn-micro-v3-reference
I thought I should use

DHTxx (10); // connected to DIO/PA0 of JNm

to use the DIO/PA0 pin on the JN-Micro device, but the values sent in the payload structure
stay at 0 for unknown reason. As obviously debugging is not so easy with the JN-Micro I am
wondering if I just missed something very basic.

Did I use the wrong portnumber? Or do I have to first switch on DIO on the JN-Micro? What
else might be wrong?

Any ideas?

Best wishes,
Urte

Replies (24)

JeeNode Micro with DHT22 - Added by martynj over 5 years ago

urmel,

Do you have the JeeNode Micro Direct running from a coin cell?  This has at most 3.0V on the Vcc pin.  I think you need to check that the DH22 can work at 3.0V (on the JeeNode USB this is a 3.3V supply).
A quick check would be to take out the coin cell and feed in 3.3V ‘borrowed’ from your JeeNode USB.

RE: JeeNode Micro with DHT22 - Added by JohnO over 5 years ago

Take a look at http://jeelabs.net/boards/7/topics/3229?r=3242\#message-3242 to improve the debugging capability of JeeNode Micro.

RE: JeeNode Micro with DHT22 - Added by urmel about 5 years ago

martynj