Project

General

RFM69CW Board issues

Added by davep almost 5 years ago

Hi folks

After lurking about JEElabs for a while, I recently dived into Jeenodes for a simple project. I want to have an outdoor JNu sensor report a status back to a central point in my house, but since I had a couple of Arduino boards lying around, and have some thick external walls to get a signal through, and there is no Jeenode available with an RFM69 module pre-fitted, I went for the RFM69CW board and a JNu with a RFM69 radio too.

But I’m having trouble at the first hurdle. The RFM69 board has no documentation of its own (I discovered that the link to documentation on the Shop catalog page is broken only after I ordered it), so I followed the RFM12 board docs to solder it together. Although, for a total newbie like myself, the lack of clear details for every component’s location took a fair bit of careful scrutiny of the photos to try and make sure the resistors were in the right places etc.

So I think I have it right - but it doesn’t work, so I can’t be sure. Any sketch hangs at a call to rf12_initialize() or rf12_config() (and yes I have included the RF69_COMPAT switch).

Given some of other traffic on here about RFM69 vs RF12, I’m unsure of whether it’s a software or hardware problem, though given that there’s basically no code in the sketch, I am thinking it must be a hardware issue. Is there any other way of testing whether the board is set up properly, other than having it initialize() properly ?

Assuming not, I would appreciate someone who knows more than i taking a look at the board I’ve made and seeing if there are any obvious problems with it, since to the best of my ability it looks fine to me.

Essentially I’m a bit stuck as to what to focus on next so would appreciate some help !

Thanks

Dave

Replies (12)

RE: RFM69CW Board issues - Added by JohnO almost 5 years ago