Project

General

Is EtherCard library still maintained?

Added by seba almost 5 years ago

I have the feeling that the EtherCard library is currently in a bad shape as even basic things such as DNS lookup won’t work. Also, some examples can’t be compiled with current Arduino toolchain.

This is a real pity as ENC25J60-based ethernet break-out boards are so popular among Arduino starters like me.

I can help debugging problems and maybe also help cleaning up the mess of having two issue trackers (GitHub, JeeLabs). But I have no deep knowledge of Ethernet to help coding.

Replies (6)

RE: Is EtherCard library still maintained? - Added by tochinet almost 5 years ago

Hi seba,

If you look on this and several other forums, you’ll see that a “nice EtherCard” is indeed a much wanted but not available thing. Not a lot of people understands its internal capabilities, and jcw did a good job then to make it better than the previous EtherShield when it wasn’t supported anymore, but even he could not bring it to a stable, easy to use state. I remember trying to document it a bit better, but it didn’t help a lot, nor even attracted a lot of reactions. Apparently you weren’t more successful :-( It is a fact that connecting an Arduino (derivative) to the Internet is clearly way more complex than blinking a led, and keeping it working is still even more complex.

Even projects like nanode.eu or openenergymonitor do not manage to be very active. So I guess many people that buy ENC25J60 boards only play a bit with them, then drop it because of the complexity and/or limitations, or precisely because the involved money was so low.

What do you want to achieve exactly ? In what kind of time frame ?

RE: Is EtherCard library still maintained? - Added by seba almost 5 years ago