Project

General

Ethercard: Fixed and configurable server IP address (No DNS) and browseurl problem

Added by farrenh about 4 years ago

Hi there,

I’m a C# programmer with a limited grasp of C+. I have a jeenode connected to an ethercard via the carrier board and am having trouble getting the web client on the Jeenode to work the way I want it to, using the Ethercard library.
1. The server I’m connecting to is on a local network, has a fixed IP and a custom port and I don’t want to use DNS. The server is an embedded server that I wrote inside a c# program that does a lot of other stuff, not a standard web server like IIS or Apache. It’s tested and working, both from a simple (but missing required functionality - see below) web client on the Jeenode and from a browser on another machine.
2. I’m developing a product that will be deployed at multiple sites, so when I say “fixed IP” I mean it’s a fixed IP for any given deployment, NOT that the server IP will be the same for all deployments. Again, I don’t want to use a DNS server to solve this, for a variety of reasons. I want a configurable fixed IP address for the server - the server IP cannot be hard-coded in the jeenode code.
3. I already have code that works that allows you to plug the jeenode into the server via USB and provide configuration information, including Encryption key (for RF) and the fixed server IP address it must use for web requests, which are all then stored in EEPROM. This is all tested and working.
4. In my ethernet setup I read the server IP from the EEPROM and modify hisip like this
<pre>
uint8_t serverAddress[4]={0};
uint16_t serverPort=2048;

for (int i =0;i<4;i)
serverAddress[i]=(uint8_t)EEPROM.read((int)RF12_EEPROM_SERVERIP+i);
ether.hisip[0]=serverAddress[0];
ether.hisip[1]=serverAddress[1];
ether.hisip[2]=serverAddress[2];
ether.hisip[3]=serverAddress[3];
ether.hisport=serverPort;
</pre>
5. But when I get here
<pre>
ether.browseUrl(PSTR ("/"), “?param1=1&param2=2”, “This is a &