Project

General

Jeenode micro with RFM69CW hangs in rf12_sendWait

Added by aelfric 8 months ago

I am trying to make this into a temperature node but am starting out with the radioBlip2 sketch.

I added the RF69_compat #define at the top of the file and I can receive successful packet transmissions, when it works.

The problem I have is that the code will hang in rf12_sendWait(SEND_MODE) if SEND_MODE is 2 or 3. It works OK if SEND_MODE is 0 or 1.

I have not touched the fuses yet, they are the default as shipped which reads as E:FF, H:DF, L:E2.

Should I set the fuses to e=06/h=DE/l=CE as mentioned in the sketch or something else or just leave alone?

Sorry, I am a bit new to the Tiny-84 so not that familiar with it yet.

Andrew

Replies (52)

RE: Jeenode micro with RFM69CW hangs in rf12_sendWait - Added by JohnO 8 months ago

It could be related to the fuses and processor startup time:

void rf69_sendWait (uint8_t mode) {
    while (RF69::sending())
        if (mode) {
            set_sleep_mode(mode == 3 ? SLEEP_MODE_PWR_DOWN :
#ifdef SLEEP_MODE_STANDBY
                           mode == 2 ? SLEEP_MODE_STANDBY :
#endif
                                       SLEEP_MODE_IDLE);
            sleep_mode();
        }
}

RE: Jeenode micro with RFM69CW hangs in rf12_sendWait - Added by aelfric 8 months ago

At the moment, it is still attached to the programmer so should have a reasonable supply of power so I am not sure what you mean about processor startup time.

Do you have any thoughts on what fuses might need to be changed? This is a Jeenode Micro built for direct power, no boost, bought with no RF but then a RFM69CW soldered on.

Thanks,
Andrew

RE: Jeenode micro with RFM69CW hangs in rf12_sendWait - Added by JohnO 8 months ago

The processor startup time is relevant when SLEEP_MODE_PWR_DOWN is used. It is the time allowed for the processor to be ready to do instructions again.

RE: Jeenode micro with RFM69CW hangs in rf12_sendWait - Added by aelfric 8 months ago